Drawing Workshop for Kids with Kevin Cornell!

Join us for a drawing workshop with artist, illustrator and author Kevin Cornell, whose new picture book, Lucy Fell Down the Mountain, has just been released.  Mr. Cornell will share his new book, and lead participants in a fast-paced drawing demonstration and workshop! We'll take provide all materials and supplies, and serve an after-school snack, too! We recommended this event for ages 4 - 9.

The cost of the workshop is a five dollar gift card.  You can buy those when you arrive that day, but please DO reserve your child's spot, as space is limited. Stop by the store, call us at 847-446-8880, or email events@thebookstall.com to make your reservation.

In Lucy Fell Down the Mountain, as the title suggests, Lucy is having a terrible day. She's falling down a mountain. As she passes various characters--a mountain man, a bungeeing duck, and a pile of shuffling bears--she tries to ask for help. But everyone misinterprets her requests. As Lucy gains velocity, the story grows in silliness. With a perfect blend of Looney Tunes-style comedy and breezy short text, Lucy Fell Down the Mountain offers a simple solution to bad days: Just roll with it!

In the tradition of When Sophie Gets Angry and Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible . . . Very Bad Day, Lucy's ability to face the day head-on--and then move on--will prove itself a new classic.

Kevin Cornell is known for his humor and has illustrated many books, websites, and comics such as The Chicken SquadCount the MonkeysThe Terrible Two, and Mustache! He spends his time in Philadelphia drawing made-up things.

Event date: 

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Event address: 

The Book Stall
811 Elm Street
Winnetka, IL 60093
Lucy Fell Down the Mountain Cover Image
By Kevin Cornell, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374306083
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - October 30th, 2018

Lucy is having a terrible day. She’s falling down a mountain. As she passes various characters—a mountain man, a bungeeing duck, and a pile of shuffling bears—she tries to ask for help. But everyone misinterprets her requests. As Lucy gains velocity, the story grows in silliness. Ending eventually in a giant, rolling snowball that lands Lucy safely at a hot-chocolate chalet. No harm done!